Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets

Book no. 2 image

This book by Evan Roskos was pretty enjoyable for me. It’s definitely Young Adult. I picked it up at the bookfair (as you can see I got it for only 10 money, what a bargain!!) because I was charmed by the title.

The story starts with this quiet and weird person James Whitman whose sister Jorie was recently kicked out of the house after being expelled. Long story short, it’s about him trying to make peace between his sister and his family and school. It has a bit of sort-of-but-not-really kind of romance with his crush (whose name I’ve forgotten, sorry) and his interactions with his best friend Jake (I think) is definitely amusing, it definitely made me giggle a few times. Anyway, for John Green fans, this book feels a lot like Paper Towns, so if you’re into that kind of thing, you should definitely check this out.

This book is smoothly written with a fun pace, as in it actually keeps me going just when I think ‘hmm…’ It’s like one of those things that are bigger on the inside but looks unassuming on the outside. Honestly when I started I thought it was going to be another typical YA book but there was more to the story than I thought so I was pleasantly surprised at how the story went. The yawping bits were fun, too. (I didn’t know it was a word either, you should definitely google this word)

I give this book a 4.1 out of 5. That extra .1 is for the funny bits. You should definitely check this book out if you’re feeling down in the dumps because not only did this cheer me up, it made me realize a few things as well like “wow. that’s definitely something to think about.”

I’ll be back with more book reviews, hopefully before the weekend is over.

Love,

Char. 🙂

Author: charlinosaur

you don't need to know.

Leave a Reply

