It’s hard to write.

or type, whichever you prefer.

It used to be easy, the words just never seemed to stop.

The innocence of a young mind.

I miss it.

Mostly Just fun and games

Limited only by my imagination.

No whispering voices in my head, telling me to

Be prettier

happier

thinner

smarter

stronger

better

thinner

I grew up.

Well technically, I’m still growing.

I started doubting myself.

I still am, really.

The voices haunt me.

I’m not pretty enough

brave enough

smart enough

strong enough

confident enough

thin enough

good enough –

I never will be.

I will never be

good

pretty

smart

strong

kind

thin

enough.

There will always be someone

someone else.

Stronger

Better

Prettier

Someone who’s not me.

It eats me inside out

until I’m nothing but an empty shell

Always wanting

wishing

desperately hoping

that I was someone else

someone new

someone no one knows

someone I want to be

To be the real me.

No faking smiles

No half shrugs

No doubts

No questions

No more.

No

If only I dared to spread my wings.

maybe,

I’d find out that I could fly

instead of picturing the fall every time I closed my eyes.

Maybe that’s why I’m so afraid to reach out for the stars

Maybe.

maybe.

Author: charlinosaur

you don't need to know.

Leave a Reply

