Goals.

I’ve come to notice that it’s easy to start something, but really freaking hard to end it. The prime example here, I think would be war. It’s really, really easy to start a war, but ending it seems to take a lot of compromise. Mostly wars end by either completely massacring the losing side or both sides suffer so much casualty that they eventually decide to call a truce. A much lighter example would be this challenge I made. I started this thing thinking you know, since I’d be at home doing nothing anyway, I’d do this, to get my creative juices flowing and the gears in my brain turning and basically keeping myself forming coherent thoughts in preparation for the um, exams or whatever. And I made myself do it. It was easy at first, after all, when you finally decide to do something, you have this little spark of excitement and plunge right into it. I wrote two, even on the first day because I was coming up with so many things and I was talking with an old friend who was my muse for a short while and consequently fueled my ideas even more. So the first day, I had many things to write about and my poor fingers could barely keep up with my brain from trying to write so much at once, Then the days dragged on. The second (or third, since I already did two) was also alright, since I still had the ideas and inspiration to do it. And the days started dragging on. I didn’t want to do it anymore. My motivation levels dropped to almost zero. I got lazy. And writing suddenly seemed like a chore, you know? Still, I challenged myself, so I made myself finish it. I made myself write, however little it was (not really. I had a word limit, I made myself write at least 400 words or so? Except yesterday’s because I was so tired.) 

Anyway, I’ve learned something for this. It’s beyond easy to think of things to say and try to come up with ideas and planning it out in your head, however impressive it may be. But what will make it all so special will be the fact that you took the time, the effort, the will to go through with whatever’s in your head and well, bringing that imagination to life. The important thing is to remember the reason you set up your goals and have the motivation, the will to march on through your challenge or whaever it is you set yourself with. Of course, an important thing to remember is to set realistic goals. Instead of just saying ‘I will write everyday’, try to make it doable. I mean, write? Write what? A word? A sentence? That’s still writing, you know. I made myself write an essay, everyday for 10 days. And the duration is important. Set short, realistic goals that you can do and complete in time. Then you can reward yourself, like I will, with my chocolate bar tomorrow. Don’t set vague goals, and ‘figure it out’ later. That’s all going to stay in your head. Plan it, write it down, set it down before you do anything. Then you can make yourself go through it and zealously finish your goals/ 

I mean, I hated myself for putting myself through this, but I’m glad. Look at me now. Still as lazy as ever, but hey, I did this challenge. I mean, I still haven’t completed my homework, I haven’t written my personal statement yet, but I think I have an idea, maybe to start it. Soon. Probably. 

Actions speak louder than words.

 

Okay. 

I totally nailed this, so I think I deserve a break.

Love,

Charley.

Who deserves a chocolate bar. 

 

Author: charlinosaur

you don't need to know.

Leave a Reply

