Ideas

It’s hard to think of things to say, (or write, in this case) when you’re out of ideas, your eyes are tired from staring at the computer screen too long (yes, I know it’s my own fault), and you’re forcing yourself to write out of a silly challenge you put yourself through all for the sake of getting the creative juices flowing. It makes me wonder how artists come up with things. I mean, do you really have this picture in your head before you start? When I look at a blank piece of paper during my art lessons, I don’t see a million different things to draw. My imagination is rather limited, see. I don’t see pictures that just come out of my head like some random generator. My way of imagining is much more abstract. Let’s say I’m thinking of a dragon coming out from this screen and into my bedroom and then curling up with me. I don’t really know the details of the dragon. How big is it? I’ll have to stop for a moment and deliberate the possibilities. If I want a big dragon, wouldn’t it be too big to fit in the house? If I want a small dragon, wouldn’t it be too small to be intimidating? And the color of its scales? The size of its wings? Is it bipedal or quadrupedal? The shape of its head? Horned or no? Size of its jaws? All of those things will pop into my head as soon as you ask me to describe the said dragon in my head supposedly in my bedroom. 

I’ve never really been a good artist. I like drawing trees best, because all you draw are the roots, the stem, the branches and the leaves. And sometimes the flowers. It’s easier, I suppose. I mean, if you drew the branches a little off, it still counts as a branch. 

Um, that’s beside the point. 

I guess thought is the better word for this context. Our thoughts are like stars we cannot fathom into constellations (TFioS quote). We think of so many things at once it’s hard to stop and single out just one. And when you do, that one thought will explode into a million other thoughts, some related to the original thought, some completely off the charts and sometimes, you go full circle and come back to where you’ve started. Thinking of a thought. 

It’s a lot to think about. 

 

Love, 

Charley. 

 

Author: charlinosaur

you don't need to know.

Leave a Reply

