Truth and honesty

I’ve been reading the Divergent series by Veronica Roth (I’m on Insurgent now) and I think it has a really interesting twist with reality to it. The five factions: Amity for Peace, Erudite for Knowledge, Candor for Honesty, Dauntless for Bravery, and Abnegation for Selflessness. Each faction has it’s own priorities to make the country(?) function. Erudite, prizing knowledge does research in everything. Abnegation is in the Goverment as officials as they are selfless and give to the Factionless as well. Dauntless are brave and are therefore the warriors of this country. And so on so forth.

And I’ve been thinking a lot lately about Candor. Truthfulness. Honesty. We never realise how easy it is to lie about something rather than tell the truth and explain yourself on that truth. Honesty comes at a price, and you never know what it is until your spill the truth and change everything. How people look at you. How you think about yourself. How impervious people are to your good deeds as soon as one mistake surfaces. People will never look at you the same way again. Heck, you will never look at yourself the same way again. It’s like we can’t even make mistakes anymore. We’re all so focused on being the ‘right’ person and doing the ‘right’ thing that mistakes are disappointing and challenging the norm will send sour looks and thinking outside the box is frowned upon. We conform to the ideas of society based on our sense of wanting to belong somewhere. It’s simple: we all want to be accepted, loved, and understood without being judged. So instead of speaking the truth and being hated, we lie and ‘fit in’ with the norm. With ‘everyone’.

We deny the truth, find a way around it so we are not under the spotlight. Instead of saying, “I’m afraid of what you might think of me after I tell you.”, we say “I can’t.” It isn’t that we can’t tell you, it’s that we are afraid. Of the truth. Of judgement. Of you ourselves. The term ‘swearing to secrecy’ never really got to me because once you tell someone, it’s not a secret anymore.

I guess it all comes down to trust. To trust someone enough to tell them the truth is to ask them to withhold judgement on you and hve you the time of day to explain yourself, on why you had to do it, on why you have lied previously, on what you could’ve done to relieve this pain. To take that leap of faith is very hard. It takes a lot of courage and a lot more trust to do so. To admit that you were wrong and ask for a chance to repent. To atone for what you have done. To beg for forgiveness.

On a side note, I’ve always wondered what kind of faction I’d be in. I am not Dauntless, I am definitely not brave. Amity is Peace-loving, so I might have some hope there. Abnegation, I’m not sure if I am Selfless enough for that. Candor speaks the truth no matter what, and I might dislike lying, but I am a fan of discretion. Erudite though, there might be hope. I enjoy seeking knowledge, although recreation is fun as well.

I guess I don’t know what I’m trying to say, and that everyone has their own secrets.

Signing off,
With love,
Charley,
the Pocket Monster.

Author: charlinosaur

you don't need to know.

Leave a Reply

